Best of Waste #1

Hey Guys,

How have you been? So I think I’m getting the hang of blogging now. That’s why I’m here with another easy tutorial today.

You might be seeing this ‘Decoupage’ technique going viral nowadays on all the social media platforms. It sound tough right? but trust me, if you follow few easy steps, you will be an expert in no time. So lets move on with today’s project.

I created this beautiful salt shaker to go on my dining table with the empty Hajmola bottle.

Look how beautiful the transition is. And its really simple too.

First i cleaned the bottle with water and wiped it with a dry cloth. Then i sanded the bottle with fine sand paper to make the surface little rough to hold the paint/gesso. Next applied the white gesso (or if you dont have that, you can use thick white acrylic paint) on the surface. I selected this beautiful Decoupage paper from Itsybitsy I had in my stash since long. Then you tear it, for the flower part. Remember don’t cut it with scissors, teared paper works better for decoupage. Now, paste each part with mod podge. I have cut small parts and covered the whole surface with flowers. Its easy to work with small parts if you are a beginner. After that, I coated another layer of mod podge over it. Now I don’t have pictures for you, but it was not looking complete to me and some white surface from behind is peeking at some places. So to cover that I dry brushed the surface at those places and the rim to complete the look. For lid, I painted it with the matching acrylic paints. Let it dry for few hours, then seal it with two coats of varnish. Poke the holes in the lid with safety pin. And your pretty little salt shaker is ready. Every time when a guest picks it up, they ask me where to buy that. Haha!! Waiting for another same bottle to empty out to make a pair of salt and pepper shakers. 😉

I hope you do try this and please feel free to ask any questions.

Don’t forget to leave some love if you are liking the tutorial series. Your support is necessary to keep me going. see ya!!

Till next time, Happy Crafting!! 😀

Leave a Reply

